Monday, September 27

Round Rarotonga Road Race 2010

The Round Rarotonga Road Race was a resounding success once again this year with about ninety people opting to get up in what I consider to be the middle of the night to head down to Punanga Nui market for the 5.30am start of the 31km race around the island.
Another fifty set off at the more civilised hour of 7.30am from Muri to run or walk 10km to the Punanga Nui finish.
First man home was Greg Gustafson. This used to be a regular occurrence in the 1990s but the last time Greg ran (and won) the RRRR was in 1997.
Second home and first local was Roland Neurerer.
The pair ran alongside each other for most of the race but a sprint finish (after 31km!) saw Greg home in 2hrs 15min 32sec with Roland 7 seconds later.
First woman was Vanessa Palmer, also the first local woman and sixth overall.
The first walker was Jos McDonald.
There were competitors from New Zealand, Australia, the USA and a lone one from the UK as well as locals of course.
The Round Raro is our longest running international sporting event; this is its 33rd year.